Finally It’s Brierley!

After 11 years of hard work, Sean Brierley stormed to victory at BRKC 2022, with Lewis Manley close behind. Six-time champion Ruben Boutens drove a determined race from near the back after a mistake in qualifying, to take the final spot on the podium.


Super-Pole qualifying was full of surprises, with Ramon Pineiro holding P1 for most of the session, despite having to qualify earliest and therefore theoretically having the coldest kart. Conversely, Ruben Boutens could only manage P9 after a mistake on his lap. But it was Sean Brierley who put one hand on the trophy with a stunning lap to claim pole position ahead of the Grand Final.


In the race itself, Brierley got away well, with Pineiro causing a gap to form between the leader and the rest of the pack, courtesy of his last-kart-pick position (having been P10 in the standings at the end of the Semi Finals). This meant he was really out of position because of his strong qualifying, and caused a headache for the drivers behind who had more race pace and could see Brierley increasing his gap at the head of the field.


As the pitstops began to play out, Lewis Manley emerged as the main challenger for the lead, with Boutens clawing back his initial deficit throughout the race and taking the fastest lap along the way.


But with Brierley still ahead after the final round of stops, he looked unlikely to allow an on-form Lewis Manley past, and crossed the line to become British Champion at the eleventh attempt.

I knew I had qualifying pace but I didn’t believe I’d done enough to maintain pole position, I thought my lap was a little scrappy. With Lewis in 3rd and Ruben in 9th I knew my only chance at victory was to build as big a gap as I could in the first 5 minutes before they hit a free track. I didn’t have the kart to beat them on raw race pace so the two seconds I gained on Lewis in the first two laps were absolutely everything and the reason I was able to come out ahead after the stops.

On becoming British Champion:

It’s taken a few days to settle in. BRKC was my first foray into racing and winning it has been at the top of my bucket list for over a decade. There are no words to describe just how much this win meant to me.



BRKC will return in January 2023. Full entry details will be announced in August.

Click here for full results

BRKC 2022 Additional Details

BRKC 2022 Additional Details

  • Please enter a number from 1 to 100.
  • Please upload a photo of your helmet, side-on, facing left. Your backdrop should ideally be a clear solid colour.
  • List your 3 biggest racing accomplishments
  • Are you aspiring to make it to F1, or are you aiming just to make it through BRKC without bungling your pitstops?
  • Will you treat yourself to a new helmet, or just a few extra McNuggets on the way home?
  • Give the commentator a few non-racing facts about yourself. Keep it short and sweet!
  • Got some sponsors on-board? Tell us about them
  • How many spectators are you planning to bring over the course of the event?

Super-Pole to Victory for Super Pole Grzyb!

 After claiming the top spot in qualifying for the second year in succession, Michał Grzyb became the first new BRKC champion in seven years with a flawless drive from lights to flag in the Grand Final at BRKC 2020

In the most competitive field of drivers ever seen at the British Rental Kart Championship, it was Michał Grzyb who emerged victorious after storming to pole position in the Super-Pole shootout for the second year in succession. Having slipped to third in the Grand Final in 2019, it was a different story this time around, as Grzyb’s victory looked assured from the early stages after reigning World Champion Michael Schoettler tangled with Mathias Grooten and lost time with a bad pass flag.

After attempting to serve his penalty (which Grooten prevented by refusing to be allowed back through), Schoettler set about reeling in Grzyb, at one stage gaining up to two tenths of a second per lap on the Pole as he took the BRKC lap record several times. However, the three second margin ultimately proved to be too much of a challenge, and Schoettler was forced to settle for second place.

The fight for third was far less straightforward, as Mathias Grooten attempted to make up for the time loss incurred by the earlier Schoettler incident to catch his compatriot Mats De Jong and claim the final spot on the podium. Despite an effort to undercut De Jong, Grooten was unable to find a way through and De Jong defended perfectly until the finish, to take his first BRKC podium.

“It’s an amazing feeling, competing here at the highest level.” – Michał Grzyb

In the heat stages, it was Selina Balneger who headed the scoreboard, courtesy of four wins from four races over the course of Saturday and Sunday. However, heading into the Super-Pole shootout for the Grand Final, Patryk Nieroda had moved to the front of the championship thanks to a strong Semi-Final. Some shock absentees included pre-event favourite Ruben Boutens, as well as Ed White, Lewis Manley, Yoan Medart – and various other finalists from previous years.

In the Super-Pole shootout itself, the laptimes were closer than ever, with nine drivers covered by 0.150s. Surprisingly, Nieroda could only manage P9 despite driving last, and reigning KWC Kart World Champion Michael Schoettler was mired in the middle of the pack in fifth place. However, both of these drivers would move forward during the race itself, aided by their preferential kart selection championship positions prior to the Grand Final.

The Kam Ho Masters’ trophy for drivers over 40 years old went to South African Richard Jute, whilst the Genevieve Reason Memorial Trophy for exceptional performance and determination during the event was awarded to Selina Belneger for being the only driver to score four heat wins during the competition.

Click here to watch the full video of BRKC 2020 on

Final Results:

Pos No Name Behind Best On Grid Grid +/- Team
1 18 Michał Grzyb 30.865 49 1 = MG Racing Team
2 21 Michael Schoettler 1.858 30.771 56 5 +3 Eco Racing Germany
3 14 Mats de Jong 14.154 31.011 47 2 -1 Traxxis
4 11 Mathias Grooten 14.648 30.983 52 4 = BlueStar Racing Team 2
5 19 Patryk Nieroda 14.873 30.903 51 9 +4 MG Racing Team
6 17 Regis Gosselin 15.214 31.156 54 3 -3 Black Horses
7 8 Selina Balneger 15.561 30.946 49 6 -1 Traxxis 2
8 13 Wojciech Grzyb 18.531 31.097 49 8 = MG Racing Team
9 9 Sean Brierley 25.753 31.158 46 7 -2 Briars Racing
10 20 Dawid Chart 1 Lap 31.234 50 10 = Hussayra Karting Poland

View Full BRKC 2020 Results Here